In Praise of Clover

Why a post on clover?  For a couple of reasons.  The clover in the photo above, taken this morning on the Somenos Dike Trail, reminds me of happy times.  When I was a child we used to pull the pink stems out of the flower head and suck out the sweet nectar. We used to search for 4-leaf-clover although I don’t remember if we ever found one. There was much wild clover in those days.  Years later when I babysat my granddaughter when she was a toddler, I taught her how to do that on a patch of the same kind of clover that we found near her home. I wonder if she remembers. Sadly that patch was mowed down and replaced with grass by the people who owned the land where the townhouse complex she lived in was located.  This seems to be the way now, there are not many places where wild things are left to themselves. I am very thankful that all wildflowers (or weeds if you prefer) on either side of the Somenos Dike Trail are left to themselves and they are a joy to behold.

My second reason to like clover is different.  We have white Dutch clover in our lawns, front and back.  The neighbour on the left side of us is not happy about this.  In fact, she told my husband quite a story of how her old neighbours had clover in their lawn and it blew to her lawn.  And by the way, (she asked) what was the white flower in our lawn? I am sure she knew that it is clover.  So this sent me on an online search about clover.  Is it a weed?  Is it beneficial to a lawn?  It turns out that both are correct, it is a weed but it is also beneficial.  I’m afraid our neighbour will not be pleased, but we are not getting rid of the clover.  Below is a great article on why clover is beneficial.:

http://www.hgtv.com/design/outdoor-design/landscaping-and-hardscaping/beneficial-clover-in-lawns

In quite another way a three-leaf-clover is a great way to teach children about the Trinity:  Father, Son and Holy Spirit..   as the clover leaf has three parts on one stem, so the Trinity is one.

1 John 5:7: For there are three that bear record in heaven, the Father, the Word, and the Holy Ghost: and these three are one.

vcg

One thought on “In Praise of Clover

  1. Pingback: Providing Food for Bees – My Last Photography Blog

Your thoughts are welcomed

